Shopping

in Khao Lak

Shopping in Thailand can be really fun and it can also be quite inexpensive. In Khaolak you will not find a large air-conditioned shopping center.

At the junction to the beach in Ban Bang Niang you will find many small shops selling all kinds of souvenirs and clothes. You can also buy groceries, drinks and cosmetics here. Most stores are open until at least 9 p.m.

High-quality goods can be found in the shops on both sides of the street near the To Zleep Hotel in Khaolak Center.

In Khaolak Center, the main street forms an approx. 2 km long shopping street. There are some shopping bazaars, mostly occupied by Indian sellers, with the same shirts and souvenirs. These shops unfortunately lack the otherwise so dominant Thai friendliness and the prices are often excessive.

Markets

Comparatively new is the BUILD market, which is still within walking distance about 500m north of Bang Niang.

On Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays you can see the colorful tent roofs of the food stalls near the street from the main street.

Behind it is a container market that takes place every day from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m., in which goods are offered that differ in a positive sense from the standard range in Khao Lak Center or the Bang Niang Market (see right).

The food stalls are also creative: oysters, langos and Korean are just a few of them.

Those who have had enough of the Thai music sprinkling will surely feel comfortable in the " The Story Bar ", which is located right next to the yellow hardware store. Night owls can then move a few steps further to the BUILD Factory , the only discotheque in Khao Lak.

The selection of food is particularly large in the Nang Thong supermarket at the traffic lights in the Khao Lak Center and in the Mother Marche north of Bang Niang.

In Khuek Khak, approx. 3 km north of Bang Niang at the bus station, there is a large fresh produce market (talad sod), which is open daily in the morning until noon. This market is mostly visited by Thais and foreigners living here.

In Bang Niang there is a picturesque open market every Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday afternoon near the traffic lights. Under palm leaf roofs, clothing and souvenirs are offered, but also all products for daily needs: fruit, vegetables, flowers, household items ... the stands with open meat and seafood on ice seem a little strange to tourists.

The food stands at the entrance to the market are particularly popular: some people eat their way through the many types of skewers, fried chicken pieces with sticky rice and fried insects. There is even kebab and handmade ice cream here.

In the meantime, this local market has become a true tourist destination, which has grown significantly in recent years and where several small bars have also established themselves. The sellers are friendly and cheerful, you can bargain a little at the souvenir and clothing stands.

Head office: 15/165 Phetkasem Road, Khaolak, Takua Pa District, Phang-Nga, Thailand,

Khaolak | jwilsdorf@gmail.com | +66 61 43 701 36 | © Jörg Wilsdorf

Khaolak other spellings: Khao Lak, Kao Lak

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Shopping

in Khao Lak

Shopping kann in Thailand richtig Spaß machen und außerdem recht preisgünstig sein. In Khaolak wird man ein großes klimatisiertes Einkaufszentrum jedoch vergeblich suchen.

 

An der Abzweigung zum Strand in Ban Bang Niang finden Sie viele kleine Läden, die alle Arten von Souvenirs und Kleidung anbieten. Auch Lebensmittel, Getränke und Kosmetika können Sie hier erwerben. Die meisten Läden haben mindestens bis 21 Uhr geöffnet.

Hochwertige Ware findet man in Khaolak Center in den Geschäften auf beiden Strassenseiten nahe des To Zleep Hotels.

In Khaolak Center bildet die Hauptstraße eine ca. 2km lange Einkaufsstraße. Darin befinden sich einige zumeist mit indischen Verkäufern besetzte Shopping Bazaare mit immer den gleichen Shirts und Souvenirs. In diesen Geschäften mangelt es leider an der sonst so dominierenden thailän-dischen Freundlichkeit und die Preise sind oft überzogen.

Märkte

Vergleichsweise neu ist der BUILD Markt, der sich noch in Gehweite ca. 500m nördlich von Bang Niang befindet.

Dienstags, Donnerstags, Freitags, Samstags und Sonntags sieht man von der Hauptstraße aus die bunten Zeltdächer der Essensstände nahe der Strasse.

Dahinter befindet sich ein täglich von 17-22 Uhr statt findender Container Markt, in dem Ware angeboten wird, die im positiven Sinne abweicht von dem Standard Angebot in Khao Lak Center oder dem des Bang Niang Marketes (siehe rechts).

Kreativ auch die Essens Stände: Austern, Langos und koreanisch sind nur einige davon.

Wer dann genug hat von der thailändischen Musik Berieselung wird sich in der gleich rechts neben dem gelben Baumarkt liegenden "The Story Bar" sicher wohlfühlen. Nachtschwärmer können danach noch ein paar Schritte weiter ziehen in die BUILD Factory, der einzigen Diskothek in Khao Lak.

Besonders groß ist die Auswahl an Lebensmitteln im Nang Thong Supermarket an der Ampel im Khao Lak Center und im Mother Marche nördlich von Bang Niang.

In Khuek Khak, ca.3 km nördlich von Bang Niang bei der Busstation, befindet sich ein großer Frischwaren Markt (talad sod), der täglich in der Früh bis Mittags geöffnet hat. Dieser Markt wird mehrheitlich von Thais und von hier wohnenden Ausländern besucht.

In Bang Niang findet jeden Montag, Mittwoch, Donnerstag  und Samstag Nachmittag nahe der Ampel ein malerischer offener Markt statt. Unter Palmblattdächern werden vor allem Kleidung und Souvenirs, aber auch alle Produkte des täglichen Bedarfs angeboten: Obst, Gemüse, Blumen, Haushaltsartikel...etwas befremdlich wirken auf Touristen jedoch die Stände mit offenen Fleisch- und Meeresfrüchten auf Eis.

Besonders beliebt sind die Essensstände am Eingangsbereich des Marktes: So manch einer futtert sich durch die vielen Spießarten, gebratenen Hähnchenstücke mit Klebereis bis hin zu gebratenen Insekten. Selbst Döner und handgemachtes Eis gibt es hier.

Inzwischen ist dieser lokale Markt ein wahres Touristenziel geworden, welches sich in den letzten Jahren stark vergrössert hat, und wo sich auch mehrere kleine Bars etabliert haben. Die Verkäufer sind freundlich und fröhlich, an den Souvenir und Kleidungs Ständen kann man ein wenig feilschen.

Firmensitz: 15/165 Phetkasem Road, Khaolak, Takua Pa District, Phang-Nga, Thailand,

Khaolak | jwilsdorf@gmail.com | +66 61 43 701 36 | © Jörg Wilsdorf

Khaolak andere Schreibweisen: Khao Lak, Kao Lak