On your own - Khao Sok National Park

Drive to Khao Sok National Park

4 km behind Takua Pa the H401 (KM 145.5) branches off to the right towards Surat Thani (156 km). The road initially leads along the edge of the wide Takua Pa valley and then swings into the hilly country in elegant curves. Beyond the pass at KM 107 there is a wonderful landscape of overgrown limestone cliffs. At KM 109.1 a road leads to the left (2 km) to the 646 km2 rainforest national park. Many travelers make this stop between the coasts, because only with Khao Sok can they spend the night in pleasant, even romantic guest houses, the evergreen monsoon forest right outside the door. The park is by no means overcrowded - only a few thousand tourists visit it every year; Entry 200 baht, car 20 baht.

The nature lover can expect dense jungle, small, rather mediocre waterfalls, beautiful hiking trails along streams and a nature trail.

Many rare mammals, including elephants, some tigers, leopards, Asiatic black bears, Gaur and Serow, live in the forests of the park and can only be stalked by jungle treks lasting several days. With a little luck, lizards, gibbons, wild boars, flying squirrels, squirrels, otters and hornbills are easier to see.

In 2011, the first indications were given that the Rafflesia should also exist in the province of Phang Nga. We now know of 6 places in the province of Phang Nga where Rafflesia actually thrives, as evidenced by photos.

Just a few years ago, a few specimens of Rafflesia (Rafflesia kerrii meijer, in Thai Buah Puht), a parasitic plant that grows on the roots of a species of liana, were not found near the entrance.

The plate-shaped, five-part, brick red and white pied flower with a diameter of 80 cm is one of the largest single flowers on earth.

It blooms in June / July at the beginning of the rainy season, according to other sources, from September to December, according to locals.

Some even say that it can be seen all year round. Anyone interested in this plant can inquire in the guest houses, as the flowering occurs in several places outside the park.

The beautiful palm tree Kerridoxia Elegans (also Langkow palm tree) is another attraction for botanists. Those who would like to drive down the river in an inflated car hose have the best option after the rainy season.

You can easily explore the jungle in this park along the main trails on your own. If you don't dare to do it alone, you can hire a knowledgeable guide from one of the guest houses.
During the wet season from May to December, the park is only worthwhile for people who don't mind the many leeches (in Thai Tahk) or who are helped by one of the home remedies, such as tobacco juice or tiger balm. Against ticks (in Thai Hep) that affect warm-blooded animals from January to April, it helps to put your trouser legs in your socks and use a repellent. It can get very cold at night. The stinking but delicious Durian ripen in the area from June to August.

Head office: 15/165 Phetkasem Road, Khaolak, Takua Pa District, Phang-Nga, Thailand,

Khaolak | jwilsdorf@gmail.com | +66 61 43 701 36 | © Jörg Wilsdorf

Khaolak other spellings: Khao Lak, Kao Lak

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

Auf eigene Faust - Khao Sok National Park

Fahrt zum Khao Sok National Park

4 km hinter Takua Pa zweigt der H401 (KM 145,5) nach rechts ab Richtung Surat Thani (156 km). Die Straße führt zunächst am Rande des weiten Takua Pa-Tales entlang und schwingt sich anschließend in eleganten Kurven ins Hügelland. Jenseits des Passes am KM 107 erstreckt sich eine herrliche Landschaft von überwucherten Kalkfelsen. Beim KM 109,1 führt nach links eine Straße (2 km) zum 646 km2 großen Regenwald-Nationalpark. Viele Traveller machen diesen Stopp zwischen den Küsten, denn nur beim Khao Sok können sie so preiswert in angenehmen, sogar romantischen Gästehäusern übernachten, den immergrünen Monsunwald direkt vor der Tür. Der Park ist keineswegs überlaufen - insgesamt besuchen ihn nur wenige tausend Touristen pro Jahr; Eintritt 200 Baht, Auto 20 Baht.

Den Naturliebhaber erwarten dichter Dschungel, kleine, eher mittelmäßige Wasserfälle, schöne Wanderwege an Bächen entlang und ein Naturlehrpfad.

In den Wäldern des Parks leben auch viele seltene Säugetiere, darunter Elefanten, einige Tiger, Leopard, Asiatischer Schwarzbär, Gaur und Serow, die nur bei mehrtägigen Dschungeltreks angepirscht werden können. Leichter zu sehen sind mit etwas Glück Warane, Gibbons, Wildschweine, Flughörnchen, Eichhörnchen, Otter und Nashornvögel.

 

Im Jahr 2011 bekamen die ersten Hinweise darauf, dass es die Rafflesia auch in der Provinz Phang Nga geben soll. Inzwischen sind uns 6 Stellen in der Provinz Phang Nga bekannt, an denen die Rafflesia tatsaechlich gedeiht, belegt durch Fotos.

Erst vor wenigen Jahren wurden gar nicht weit vom Eingang einige Exemplare der Rafflesia (Rafflesia kerrii meijer, auf Thai Buah Puht) gefunden, einer parasitären Pflanze, die auf den Wurzeln einer Lianenart wächst.

Die tellerförmige, fünfteilige, ziegelrot und weiß gescheckte Blüte gehört mit 80 cm Durchmesser zu den größten Einzelblüten auf der Erde.

Sie blüht nach Aussagen der Einheimischen zu Beginn der Regenzeit im Juni/Juli, laut anderen Quellen von September bis Dezember.

Manche sagen sogar, dass sie ganzjaehrig zu sehen sei. Wer Interesse an dieser Pflanze hat, kann in den Gästehäusern nachfragen, da die Blüte auch an mehreren Stellen außerhalb des Parks vorkommt.

 

Die schöne Palme Kerridoxia Elegans (auch Langkow-Palme) ist eine weitere Attraktion für Botaniker. Wer gern in einem aufgepumpten Autoschlauch den Fluss hinabtreiben möchte, hat dazu nach der Regenzeit die beste Möglichkeit.

Den Dschungel in diesem Park kann man entlang der Hauptwege leicht auf eigene Faust erkunden. Wer es sich nicht allein zutraut, kann einen kundigen Führer aus einem der Gästehäuser anheuern.
Während der feuchten Zeit von Mai bis Dezember lohnt sich der Park nur für Leute, denen die vielen Blutegel (auf Thai Tahk) nichts ausmachen oder denen eines der Hausmittelchen hilft, wie z.B. Tabaksaft oder Tiger Balsam. Gegen Zecken (auf Thai Hep), die von Januar bis April Warmblütler befallen, hilft es schon, die Hosenbeine in die Socken zu stecken und ein Repellent zu verwenden. In den Nächten kann es empfindlich kalt werden. Von Juni bis August reifen in der Umgebung die stinkenden, aber leckeren Durian.

Firmensitz: 15/165 Phetkasem Road, Khaolak, Takua Pa District, Phang-Nga, Thailand,

Khaolak | jwilsdorf@gmail.com | +66 61 43 701 36 | © Jörg Wilsdorf

Khaolak andere Schreibweisen: Khao Lak, Kao Lak