On your own - Travel & Active

Vehicles for trips
on your own
Rent a car
Golf, tennis, elephants
Khao Lak: Linien Busse in Khaolak.

buses

Simple regular buses run approximately every hour in both directions, to Phuket and Takua Pa. They stop at all stops on request (give a hand signal).

Air-conditioned buses (blue) only stop if they still have seats or are pre-booked. Pre-booking is advisable when traveling to Surat Thani or Bangkok, reliably carried out by the travel agencies.
From Khao Lak there is a minibus to Phuket and Patong twice a day for 800 baht per person.

Private taxis

If you would like to explore the Khao Lak area on your own with a chauffeur, you can hire a private driver.
We can recommend Mr. Ya and Mr. Keng. They speak English well and drive unobtrusively wherever guests want. They do not offer tours.
If you like a driver who also acts as a guide, Keng is very good off: a knowledgeable young man with an official guide license who can show you a lot and explain about Thailand, which of course costs a little more.
You can only book Gaeng and Ya online:

https://www.5starmotorbike.com/taxi-de


Rental vehicles

If you want to rent a vehicle, you need to know that in Thailand you drive on the left, that there are certain traffic rules, but that the unwritten rules are often more important. So buses, trucks, water buffalos and pigs always have right of way, chickens and dogs are ignored by Thai drivers. You should never expect other road users to behave in a traffic-friendly manner.

Before renting a vehicle, check the tires, brakes, horn, lights and turn signals.

Only rent a motorcycle if you have driving experience and insist on a helmet. Wear it, it is regulation in Thailand and can save your life. Liability insurance, if there is any, only covers personal injury up to max. 50,000 baht from. Never drive drunk unless you plan to test Thai surgery for yourself or to end your life in Thailand.

There are international rental car companies along the main road from Khao Lak and Bang Niang.

Some private individuals charge less rent when booking their only vehicle. It goes without saying that this is risky due to insurance.

Driving license: In Germany, ask for the international driver's license of the 1926 agreement !! Only this applies in Thailand, which has insurance-related consequences. The 1968 agreement was never confirmed by Thailand.

The safest option is to drive a rental vehicle that offers first-class insurance.
The "best" car insurance among Thais is AIG (American International Group), for example AirportCarRent at Phuket Airport and used by NDC Car Rent in Khao Lak. The Thai licensees of the international companies (e.g. Hertz, Sixt, AVIS, Budget) work together with other insurance companies. They do not necessarily take over the claims processing and settlement completely, which can have very unpleasant consequences for the person who caused the accident.

Khao Lak: Mietwagen in Khaolak.

Playing golf at Khao Lak

There has been a beautiful 9-hole golf course near Khao Lak since 2018, which will be expanded to 18. The course is on the road from Beyond Resort to Alt Takuapa.

World class is the Kata Thong golf course on the way from Khao Lak to the provincial capital Phang-Nga. The distance is about 40 km.

The 9-hole Navi golf course in Thap Lamu is less good.

Playing tennis in Khao Lak
The most central is on Nang Thong Beach the Centara Seaview Resort , which has 2 tennis courts.
La Flora has a tennis court on Bang Niang Beach, JWMarriott on Khuk Khak Beach, Takolaburi Cultural Resort & Spa on Pakarang Beach and Merlin Resort on Khao Lak South Beach.

Bathing with elephants and elephant rides near Khao Lak

Several elephant camps near Khao Lak offer elephant rides through plantations and jungles. Children in particular are very impressed by the experience. Very steep stretches can not be safe for small children and can spoil the fun considerably.
Most tourists will need 30 to 60 minutes on the back of their pachyderms.

Bathing with elephants, which almost all camps also offer on site, has become much more popular among tourists.

Budget has a branch in Khao Lak at the Bang Niang gas station. Budget allows you to return the car to all other branches in Thailand for a rental period of several days or more. You have to pay by credit card and you can take out additional insurance, which also covers the deductible of max. 10,000 baht.

Oh yes: anyone who drives in and out of the Khao Lak Center must expect occasional police checks. Motorcycle riders usually only need a helmet and a national driver's license. Motorists should have a National FS and the International FS with the 1926 Agreement and wear their seat belts. The fine for just about anything is 500 THB (approx. 12 EUR).

Auf eigene Faust - Reise & Aktiv

Fahrzeuge für Ausflüge auf eigene Faust
Wagen mieten
Golf, Tennis,  Elefanten

Busse

Einfache Linienbusse fahren ca. stündlich in beide Richtungen, nach Phuket und Takua Pa. Sie stoppen auf Verlangen an allen Haltestellen (Handzeichen geben).

Klimatisierte Busse (blau) stoppen nur, wenn sie noch Sitzplätze frei haben oder vorgebucht sind. Vorbuchen ist ratsam bei einer Fahrt nach Surat Thani oder Bangkok, verlässlich ausgeführt von den Reisebüros.
Aus Khao Lak fährt zweimal taeglich ein Minibus nach Phuket und Patong fuer 800 Baht pro Person.

 

Privat-Taxis

Wer gern mit einem Chauffeur die Gegend von Khao Lak auf eigene Faust erkunden möchte, kann einen Privatfahrer oder eine Privatfahrerin anheuern.
Empfehlen können wir die Herren Mr. Ya und Mr. Keng. Sie sprechen gut Englisch und fahren unaufdringlich überall hin, wo es die Gäste wünschen. Sie bieten keine Touren an.
Wer gern einen Fahrer hat, der auch als Guide fungiert, ist mit Keng sehr gut dran: ein kenntnisreicher junger Mann mit offizieller Guide License, der Ihnen viel zeigen und über Thailand erklären kann, was natürlich etwas mehr kostet.
Gaeng und Ya buchen Sie ausschliesslich online:

https://www.5starmotorbike.com/taxi-de


Mietfahrzeuge

Wenn Sie ein Fahrzeug mieten wollen, müssen Sie wissen, dass man in Thailand links fährt, dass es gewisse Verkehrsregeln gibt, dass aber die ungeschriebenen Regeln oft wichtiger sind. So haben Busse, Lastwagen, Wasserbüffel und Schweine immer Vorfahrt, Hühner und Hunde werden von Thai Fahrern ignoriert. Man darf nie damit rechnen, dass sich andere Straßenbenutzer verkehrsgerecht verhalten.

Bevor sie ein Fahrzeug mieten, checken Sie die Reifen, die Bremsen, die Hupe, die Lichter und die Blinklichter.

Mieten Sie ein Motorrad nur, wenn Sie schon Erfahrung im Fahren haben, und bestehen Sie auf einem Helm . Tragen Sie ihn, er ist in Thailand Vorschrift und kann Ihr Leben retten. Die Haftpflichtversicherung deckt, falls überhaupt eine besteht, nur Personenschaeden bis max. 50 000 Baht ab. Fahren Sie nie angetrunken, falls Sie nicht vorhaben, die thailändische Chirurgie am eigenen Leib zu testen oder ihr Leben in Thailand zu beenden.

Entlang der Hauptstrasse von Khao Lak und Bang Niang gibt internationale Mietwagen Firmen.

Einige Privatleute verlangen bei Buchung ihres einzigen Fahrzeugs weniger Miete. Dass das aufgrund der Versicherung riskant ist, versteht sich von selbst.

Führerschein: Verlangen Sie in Deutschland den Internationalen Führerschen des Abkommens von 1926!! Nur dieser gilt in Thailand, was versicherungstechnische Folgen nach sich zieht. Das Abkommen von 1968 wurde von Thailand nie bestätigt.

Am sichersten fahren Sie mit Mietfahrzeugen, die eine erstklassige Versicherung ("First Class Insurance") anbieten.
Als "beste" Autoversicherung gilt unter Thais die von AIG (American International Group), die z.B. von AirportCarRent am Airport Phuket und von NDC Car Rent in Khao Lak benutzt wird. Die thailaendischen Lizenznehmer der internationalen Firmen (z.B. Hertz, Sixt, AVIS, Budget) arbeiten mit anderen Versicherungen zusammen. Sie übernehmen die Schadensabwicklung und -regulierung nicht unbedingt vollstaendig, was fuer den Unfallverursacher sehr unangenehme Folgen haben kann.

Golf spielen bei Khao Lak

Nahe Khao Lak gibt es seit 2018 einen schönen Golfplatz mit 9 Löchern, der auf 18 ausgebaut wird. Der Platz befindet sich auf der Strasse vom Beyond Resort nach Alt Takuapa.

Weltklasse ist der Kata Thong Golfplatz auf dem Weg von Khao Lak zur Provinz Hauptstadt Phang-Nga. Die Entfernung ist ca. 40 km.

Weniger gut ist der 9-Loch Navi Golfplatz in Thap Lamu.

Tennis spielen in Khao Lak
Am zentralsten ist am Nang Thong Beach das Centara Seaview Resort gelegen, das 2 Tennisplätze hat.
Am Bang Niang Beach hat das La Flora einen Tennisplatz, am Khuk Khak Beach das J.W.Marriott, am Pakarang Beach das Takolaburi Cultural Resort & Spa und am Khao Lak South Beach das Merlin Resort.

 

Baden mit Elefanten und Elefantenreiten in der Nähe von Khao Lak

Mehrere Elefanten-Camps in der Nähe von Khao Lak bieten Elefantenreiten durch Plantagen und Dschungel an. Besonders Kinder sind von dem Erlebnis sehr beindruckt. Sehr steile Strecken können aber für kleine Kinder durchaus nicht ungefährlich sein und den Spass erheblich verleiden.
Den meisten Touristen reichen 30 bis 60 Minuten auf dem Rücken der Dickhäuter durchaus.

Sehr viel beliebter ist bei den Touristen in jüngster Zeit das Baden mit Elefanten, welches fast alle Camps auch direkt vor Ort anbieten.

Budget hat eine Filiale in Khao Lak auf der Tankstelle von Bang Niang. Budget ermöglicht Ihnen ab mehreren Tagen Mietdauer, den Wagen in allen anderen Filialen Thailands zurückzugeben. Sie müssen mit Kreditkarte zahlen und können eine zusaetzliche Versicherung abschließen, die auch den Selbstbehalt von max. 10000 Baht abdeckt.

 

Ach ja: wer nach Khao Lak Center rein- und rausfährt muss mit gelegentlichen Kontrollen der Polizei rechnen. Motorrad Fahrern reicht meist der Helm und ein nationaler Führerschein. Autofahrer sollten einen nationalen FS und den Internationalen FS mit Abkommen von 1926 haben und den Sicherheitsgurt angelegt haben. Die Strafe für so ziemlich alles ist 500 THB (ca. 12 EUR).

Firmensitz: 15/165 Phetkasem Road, Khaolak, Takua Pa District, Phang-Nga, Thailand,

Khaolak | jwilsdorf@gmail.com | +66 61 43 701 36 | © Jörg Wilsdorf

Khaolak andere Schreibweisen: Khao Lak, Kao Lak